The 2023 IRC Faculty Research Fellowship

The Office of the Vice President for Research, the College of Arts Humanities and Social Sciences (CAHSS) Dean’s Office, the College of Engineering and Information Technology (COEIT) Dean's Office, and the Imaging Research Center (IRC) are pleased to announce a funding opportunity for two tenured or tenure-track faculty members, one in CAHSS and one in COEIT, to collaborate together, and with the IRC, on new research. The Fellowship can be used to advance a current project or begin an entirely new project.

The IRC Faculty Research Fellowship (IRC-FRF) was formerly the Summer Faculty Research Fellowship (SFRF) open only to CAHSS faculty. It has been, and continues to be, intended as seed funding for media and visualization research that advances communication, expression, and/or visual analysis of only CAHSS-related content. This year, given the commitment of the IRC toward advancing interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary collaboration at UMBC, we are piloting the 2022 IRC-FRF as a reformulated grant to stimulate and catalyze collaborative research between the two colleges.

What We Fund

The IRC-FRF will fund an interdisciplinary research project involving collaboration between faculty from CAHSS and COEIT. Preference will be given to projects that align with current research in the IRC to best leverage and align with current IRC capacities. Presently, the IRC has a significant commitment to research in Virtual and Augmented Reality.

We encourage (but do not require) prospective applicants to make an appointment with Anita Komlodi, Associate Director of the IRC, to discuss their proposal ahead of time.

Successful applications will describe projects that seem likely to generate an opportunity for significant external funding in the future. Proposals should also describe plans for publishing and/or other opportunities to bring visibility to the work, the IRC, the collaborating departments, colleges, and UMBC.

What We Do Not Fund

The IRC does not simply provide technical services to the proposed research project but must be involved as a research partner. The IRC is a cross-disciplinary research lab developing new digital media technologies and practices to achieve something not currently being done, or which could be improved upon in a significant way. The IRC brings expertise in media research, concept development, design, engineering, modeling and animation, interactivity, and filmmaking to collaborative research projects. We encourage (but do not require) prospective applicants to make an appointment with Anita Komlodi, Associate Director of the IRC, to discuss their proposal ahead of time.

The Award

This year’s award will be $24,000: $6,000 per faculty member (2 x $6,000) for stipend and/or other research-related expenses, and $12,000 to directly support the research project in the IRC in the form of staff support, undergraduate or graduate student support, additional equipment or supplies, travel, and other appropriate expenses. Awardees may choose to use their $6000 as summer research funding for faculty stipends for the PIs, and/or to pay students or other faculty as co-investigators, or even equipment or supplies.

The IRC-FRF awards are to fund research for a total of 18 months, with the possibility of a 6-month, no-cost extension.


March 1, 2022

Review Criteria

  • Quality of proposed project and significance in the fields involved.
  • Feasibility and clear match of the proposed research to the IRC’s research efforts, mission, expertise, facilities, and budget.
  • Qualifications of the faculty members for the proposed research.
  • Appropriateness of the budget.


Preparation and Review

Through this application process, IRC Associate Director Anita Komlodi will work similarly to a Program Director for a Federal Agency grant proposal. She should be contacted to answer questions, help create strong matches between research projects and the IRC’s specific expertise, and advise on budget preparation. Anita sits in with the review committee to answer questions, but does not vote on the actual awards. These pre-proposal meetings with the IRC are important and Anita will make every effort to be available. Please contact her early and often!

Past review committee members have included: Bev Bickel (Language Literacy and Culture), Lisa Moren (Visual Arts), John Sturgeon (Visual Arts and Lipitz Professor), Jason Loviglio (Chair, Media Communication Studies), Nicole King (Chair, American Studies), Kathy O’Dell (Former Associate Dean and Visual Arts), Linda Baker (Psychology and Former Research Council). This year’s review committee will be a different mix of faculty from across both CAHSS and COEIT. Award announcements will be made during April, 2022.


Anita Komlodi: